My Follow Friday Pick

I’ve met so many wonderful people on Twitter and I’d like to recommend them but I don’t want them to get lost in the strings of usernames on a #followfriday, which is one of the pitfalls of #followfriday.  I love receiving #ff recommendations but stopped doing them regularily a while ago.  I find myself doing introductions whenever I see a connection between people or if I come across a good all round Twit that everyone will enjoy.

This week I’ve decided to try something a bit different.  I got the idea from Nikki Backsall, @webmums.  I’m going to recommend one of my favourite twitterers and feature them on my blog on a Friday.  This will give me a chance to expand on why you should follow them in more than 140 characters and hopefully you won’t miss them.

This week I have to recommend @iaingilmour, because who in their right mind writes a love song to their shed, especially, when he hasn’t written one for his lovely wife, @sarahchocolate in years.   He’s a father of two, musically inclined, writes ‘slightly epic’ blog posts but always worthy of a read and I really don’t know what he does for a day job, but he has an obsession with monitor splitters.

I don’t think I need to tell you he’s barmy.  I enjoy reading his tweets but I don’t know how many times I’ve replied with ‘Huh?’ as 90% of the time I have no idea what he’s on about, but he does make me laugh and I’m sure he’ll make you to. And if you’re really lucky he may compose you a birthday song which he did for me back in October!

15 Responses

  1. Great idea! I’d not come across him or his blog before and am now following both! I’ll look forward to next week’s recommendation.

    😀

  2. aw @mediocre_mum that’s lovely, what a good idea.

  3. Crikey. Gulp. Thank you. Er…

  4. what a fabulous idea!

  5. What a great idea – thanks for the tip, I shall go and read his blog!

    • Anything to free up the timeline a bit on Fridays! He is worth a follow…do say hello so he knows you’re real! 😉

  6. Great idea! I already tweet with him and shall now pop over and look at his blog. I don’t do #ff either so may need to adopt this idea…

  7. Thanks for this post. As a newbie to twitter I had no idea with the #FF meant but felt very much like it was a club I hadn’t been invited to join. It sounds like highlighting one is a much better way of getting blogs “out there”.

    • It’s not normally done this way…thought I’d give a go to see if it works. Glad the post was of some use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

